2014 Semi-finalists Announced

After more than 43 hours of performances from the 37 competitors over 7 days of competition, 12 pianists are that much closer to being the 2014 Gina Bachauer International Artists Piano Competition Gold Medalist. 

The first two rounds of the Competition thrilled audiences as standing ovations, curtain calls, and shouts of bravo filled the performance hall. Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center was buzzing with energy on Thursday evening as the competitors, host families, and audience members gathered to await the results of the international jury ballots. There is no deliberation among jury members.

The 12 pianists will present full hour recitals on Friday, June 20th and Saturday, June 21st at the Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center (138 West 300 South). Three pianists will go onto the Final Round to perform concerti with Utah Symphony under the direction of Thomas Hong in Abravanel Hall on June 25th at 7 PM.

Semi-final Round Schedule
June 20th – Friday Performance Time
Miao Huang, China/Germany, 29 1:05 PM
Sara Daneshpour, USA, 27 2:05 PM
KaJeng Wong, Hong Kong, 23 3:30 PM
Artem Yasynskyy, Ukraine, 25 4:30 PM
Chi Ho Han, Korea, 22 7:35 PM
Marcin Koziak, Poland, 25 8:45 PM
June 21st – Saturday Performance Time
Alexander Gadjiev, Italy, 19 1:05 PM
Dominic Cheli, USA, 20 2:05 PM
Alexey Chernov, Russia, 31 3:30 PM
EunAe Lee, Korea, 26 4:30 PM
Daniil Sayamov, Russia, 30 7:35 PM
Andrey Gugnin, Russia, 28 8:45 PM

Tickets: Rose Wagner day passes $20 (Student $8), Abravanel tickets $30 (Student $15). Contact 801-355-ARTS, www.arttix.org. Due to recording and broadcast rights, live streaming video will not be available for the Final Round as it was earlier in the Competition.

The International Jury: Nelita True (Chair), USA; Hui-Qiao Bao, China; Susan Duehlmeier, USA; Kyoko Hashimoto, Japan/Canada; Pasquale Iannone, Italy; Ronan O’Hora, United Kingdom; Marc Silverman, USA; Boris Slutsky, Russia/USA; Jack Winerock, USA.

%d bloggers like this: