Cuellar, Scott


BiographyCompetitor Program

Scott Cuellar was the 1st place winner of the 2013 Virginia Waring International Piano Competition (solo division), where he also took 2nd place in the concerto division, and was the winner of the Krenek Prize for the best performance of a sonata by Ernst Krenek. He was the winner of the Oberlin Concerto Competition, and was a prizewinner in the Jefferson Symphony International Young Artists Competition, the Crescendo Music Awards, and many others.

He has appeared as a soloist with the Oberlin Orchestra, the Lima Symphony Orchestra, the Waring Festival Orchestra, with the Minneapolis and the St. Paul Civic Symphonies, and several others. He has been heard in venues nationwide, including Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, the Newport Music Festival, as a guest recitalist at Northwestern University’s Bienen School of Music, Minneapolis’ Orchestra Hall and at the Greene Space of WQXR New York.

Mr. Cuellar has attended the Banff Center in Alberta, Canada, and was one of ten pianists invited to study under Jerome Lowenthal at the Music Academy of the West in Santa Barbara. He has performed in master classes with some of the world’s foremost pianists and pedagogues, including Stephen Hough, Angela Hewitt, Jeffrey Kahane, Robert McDonald, and enjoys continuing private study with Orli Shaham.

Mr. Cuellar holds a Master of Music from the Juilliard School, where he studied with Julian Martin, and holds a Bachelor of Music from the Oberlin Conservatory of Music, where he studied with Alvin Chow. During his time at Oberlin, he won three of the largest prizes offered to pianists: the Oberlin Concerto Competition, the Arthur Dann Competition, and the John Elvin Prize for Juniors. Mr. Cuellar is now a doctoral student at the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University, where he studies with Jon Kimura Parker.

Franz Josef Haydn Sonata in C Minor, Hob. XVI:20
Andante con moto
Sergei Prokofiev Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, op. 29
 Allegro molto sostenuto
 Andante assai
 Allegro con brio, ma non leggiero
Gabriel Fauré Nocturne No. 11 in F-sharp Minor, op. 104, no. 1
Robert Schumann Kreisleriana, op. 16
Johann Sebastian Bach Toccata in D Major, BWV 912
Alexander Scriabin Sonata No. 9 (Black Mass), op. 68
Johannes Brahms Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, op. 5
Allegro maestoso
Andante espressivo
Allegro energico avec trio
Andante molto
Allegro moderato ma rubato
Sergei Rachmaninoff Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43