Gadjiev, Alexander

GADJIEV, Alexander

BiographyCompetitor Program

Alexander Gadjiev was born in 1994 into a family of musicians in Gorizia, Italy. He began his piano studies at the age of five with his mother, Ingrid Silic. He continued his studies with his father, Siavush Gadjiev.

Alexander is the 1st Prize winner of numerous competitions for young pianists. At the age of nine, he played Haydn’s Concerto in C major, receiving glowing reviews from the press. He gave his first recital at the age of ten.

Following his success at the piano competition of Ljubljana (Slovenia) he was invited to play at the festivals of Ljubljana and in Feldkirchen, Austria. In 2009, he performed with the “Ars Atelier” orchestra of Gorizia, and with the orchestra of the Ljubljana Opera House. In 2010 he gave solo recitals in Padova, Trieste, and in Maribor. In 2011, he played at the Dilsberg festival in Germany. In 2012, he played with the orchestra RTV Slovenija. In April 2012, he won the third prize at the first edition of the FVG International Piano competition. In June 2012, he won the ninth edition of the Premio delle Arti, in Trieste.

In the same year he graduated magna cum laude from the “Conservatorio Bruno Maderna” of Cesena. In October 2012, he played at the Italian Cultural Centre in Paris. In June 2013, he completed his studies at “Duca degli Abruzzi.” Since autumn 2013, he has been attending the Master’s degree course at the “Mozarteum” of Salzburg under the guidance of Maestro Gililov.

In November 2013, he won the thirtieth edition of the “Premio Venezia,” the competition in which only magna cum laude graduated pupils are allowed to participate. In January 2014, he was invited to perform a solo recital for the SVC at the Great Hall of “La Fenice” Opera House.

Johann Sebastian Bach/Busoni Chaconne in D Minor, BWV 1004
Frédéric Chopin Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, op. 52
Robert Schumann Etudes symphoniques, op. 13
Alexander Scriabin Sonata No. 5 in F-sharp Major, op. 53
Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, op. 57
Allegro assai
Andante con moto
Allegro ma non troppo
Frédéric Chopin Nocturne in B Major, op. 62, no. 1
Sergei Prokofiev Visions Fugitives, op. 22, nos. 1,2,3,4,7,8,9,11,14,18
  Sonata No.7 in B-flat Major, op. 83
Allegro inquieto
Andante caloroso
Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, op. 23