Kaise, Kyoko

KAISE, Kyoko

BiographyCompetitor Program

Kyoko Kaise was born in Shizuoka, Japan and was given her first piano lesson at the age of 5. After having studied with Yoshie Nishijima, Setsuko Takahara, and Akemi Shioya, she was awarded a place to study at the Tokyo College of Music with Prof. Emiko Harimoto and Hitoko Kurasawa. After gaining a post graduate degree in 2008, she then moved to Berlin, Germany to study at the Universität der Künste with Prof. Elena Lapitzkaja, Markus Groh and Georg Sava. She is currently studying for her artistic degree (Konzertexamen).

Kyoko Kaise has appeared on stage with many orchestras, including, Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Orquestra Nacional do Porto and Orchestra Sinfonica Città di Grosseto.

She has taken part in many concerts as a soloist as well as a chamber musician, in venues such as Salle Gaveau in Paris, Steinway Haus in Berlin, Suntory Hall and Toppan Hall in Japan. Her playing has been broadcast many times on Japanese Radio (NHK-FM) and TV.

She was awarded prizes in numerous national and international competitions, such as: 1st Prize at the 1st Tokyo College of Music Competition, Semi-Gold Medal at the PTNA International Piano Competition in Japan, 1st Prize at the 1st SEILER International Competition in Japan, 1st Prize and Special Prizes at the 74th Music Competition of Japan,1st Prize at the 17th Arthur Schnabel Competition in Berlin, Germany, 3rd Prize at the 26th City of Porto International Music Competition in Porto, Portugal, 2nd Prize at the 14th International Piano Competition “A. Scriabin” in Grosseto, Italy, Semi-Finalist at the Long-Thibaud-Crespin Competition in Paris, France.

Her recent performing activities include solo recitals in Kassel and Passau Germany, a joint recital in Andalucia, Spain, a solo recital in Tokyo and her hometown, Shizuoka in Japan.

Akira Nishimura Aqua from Three Visions
Maurice Ravel Ondine from Gaspard de la nuit
Franz Liszt Mephisto Waltz No. 1
Franz Josef Haydn Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:50
  Allegro molto
Alexander Scriabin Sonata No. 9 (Black Mass), op. 68
Sergei Rachmaninoff Moments musicaux, op.16, nos. 1-4
Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata No. 18 in E-flat Major, op. 31, no. 3
  Scherzo – Allegretto vivace
  Menuetto – Moderato e grazioso
  Presto con fuoco
Claude Debussy Images, Book II
  Cloches à travers les feuilles
  Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut
  Poissons d’or
Sergei Prokofiev Sonata No. 7 in B-flat Major, op. 83
  Allegro inquieto
  Andante caloroso
Sergei Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, op. 18