Miller, Conlan

MILLER, Conlan

BiographyCompetitor Program

Conlan Miller, a Utah native and student at Brigham Young University, has studied piano with Dr. Irene Peery-Fox for thirteen years. He was the 2013 national first prize winner in the Music Teachers National Association/Steinway & Sons Young Artist Piano Competition. He received 2nd Prize in the National MTNA Senior Piano Competition in 2008. He has been a frequent prize winner in other piano competitions including the Utah Symphony All-Star and Salute to Youth Auditions, the BYU Concerto Competition, the Snowy Range Piano Competition, and the Jefferson Symphony Orchestra International Young Artists Competition.

Conlan began formal piano lessons at age ten and his first major public performance was at age eleven when he won a concerto audition which allowed him to perform Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue with the Utah Valley Symphony. Since then, he has appeared as soloist with the Utah Symphony, BYU Philharmonic Orchestra, Oquirrh Mountain Symphony, American Fork Symphony, and Southwest Symphony. Conlan has performed solo recitals across the United States under the sponsorship of the National Chopin Foundation, Music Teachers National Association, and The Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy. He has performed for Leon Fleisher, Peter Mack, Nancy Weems, and Kirill Gliadkovsky, in both master class and private lesson settings.

As a student at Brigham Young University, Conlan was awarded the Don and Shirley Oscarson Scholarship Award in addition to the highest monetary merit award offered by the BYU School of Music. He has also been featured in BYU Magazine and other campus publications. He was the full-time pianist for BYU Men’s Chorus, the largest collegiate male choir in the world. Conlan is a piano teacher and frequently collaborates with other musicians in chamber performances.

Franz Liszt Funérailles
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sonata in C Major, K. 330
  Allegro moderato
  Andante cantabile
Sergei Rachmaninoff Prelude in B-flat Major, op. 23, no. 2
Frédéric Chopin Polonaise-Fantasie, op. 61
  Nocturne in E-flat Major, op. 55, no. 2
  Scherzo No. 3 in C-sharp Minor, op. 39
Lowell Liebermann  
  Gargoyles, op. 29
  Adagio semplice, ma con molto rubato
  Allegro moderato
  Presto feroce
Franz Schubert  
  Fantasie in C Major (Wanderer), D. 760
Maurice Ravel Gaspard de la nuit
  Le gibet
Mili Balakirev Etude-idylle in D-flat Major (In the Garden)
Sergei Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, op. 30