Wong, KaJeng

WONG, KaJeng

BiographyCompetitor Program

KaJeng Wong’s musical ability has brought him to international stages since a very young age; he has performed in Europe, UK, North America, China, and Southeast Asia. KaJeng studied piano with Nancy Loo for 7 years. He also plays violin having studied with Yang Bao-Zhi, Michael Ma, and Ho Hung-Ying. KaJeng has won virtually every category at music contests in Hong Kong including playing solos, duo piano, with string quartets, and choirs.

Having temporarily suspended his piano studies for two years at age 13-15, KaJeng auditioned at Curtis Institute of Music on the violin before settling on the keyboard. Upon his return to the piano, studying with Prof. Gabriel Kwok, he soon began to participate at international festivals such as Verbier Music Academy and Piano Texas. 

KaJeng’s calling to be a musician, as well as a personal note of encouragement from Claude Frank, grew into the decision to study with Emile Naoumoff at the Jacobs School of Music. Within two months, he was the winner of the piano concerto competition and performed with Maestro Uriel Segal. His talent as music collaborator makes him a much sought after chamber music partner and choral accompanist.

His innovative borderline classical concert, “KJ & NG: Music is Music” in 2009 received critical acclaim for its originality and ground-breaking form. A documentary was made of KaJeng’s youthful passions, pursuits and ideals; “KJ – Music & Life” has received awards for “Best Editing,” “Best Documentary” and “Best Sound Effects” from the Golden Horse Awards.

KJ is currently the Artistic Director of Music Lab and Founder of Music Lab Educational Studio.

Frédéric Chopin Nocturne in E-flat Major, op. 55, no. 2
  Ballade No. 4 in F Minor op. 52
Claude Debussy from Préludes
  Les collines d’Anacapri
  La danse de Puck
  Ce qu’a vu le vent d’ouest
Nikolai Kapustin from Préludes
  Les collines d’Anacapri
  La danse de Puck
  Ce qu’a vu le vent d’ouest
Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, op.110
  Moderato cantabile molto espressivo
  Allegro molto
  Adagio ma non troppo
  Fuga – Allegro, ma non troppo
György Ligeti Etude No.13 (The Devil’s Staircase)
Alexander Scriabin Sonata No. 5 in F-sharp Major, op. 53
Johann Sebastian Bach Partita No. 4 in D Major, BWV 828
Franz Liszt Sonata in B Minor
Frédéric Chopin Concerto No. 1 in E Minor, op. 11