Yu, Zenan

YU, Zenan

BiographyCompetitor Program

Zenan Yu was born in China where he studied with Guangren Zhou and E-lian Chen at the Central Conservatory of Music. At The New England Conservatory, he studied with Russell Sherman. In his freshman year at New England Conservatory, he won the NEC piano concerto competition and performed Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 with the NEC Symphony Orchestra.

At the age of fifteen, Mr. Yu programmed the complete Rachmaninoff preludes as his debut recital in Beijing, China. In the same year, he gave his first U.S. concert tour performing in many cities including New York, New Haven, Boston, Cleveland, Philadelphia, and Los Angeles. He has since given recitals in Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Xiamen, Tsingtao, Ningbo, Guangzhou, and Hong Kong. He performed at The Great Hall of The People for the former president and other leaders of China and in Tiananman Square for over 50,000 people.

Mr. Yu has been a concerto soloist with orchestras such as the China Philharmonic Orchestra, the Central Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, and the Beijing Youth Symphony Orchestra. In 2008, Mr. Yu substituted at the last minute for a pianist in performances of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with the Concord Symphony. After the performances, he was invited to play Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2 for the opening series of the 2009-2010 Concord Symphony Season.

He was invited by the Foundation of Chinese Performing Arts to play a recital in The 17th Annual Music Festival. He has also played in the Haydn celebration concert series at the Los Angles County Museum of Art. This recital was broadcasted by 88.5 KCSN.

Recently, Mr. Yu won the Raeburn Prize for Artist of Special Promise at the Honens International Piano Competition.

Claude Debussy Images, Book II
Cloches à travers les feuilles
  Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut
  Poissons d’or
Franz Liszt Mephisto Waltz No. 1
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sonata in D Major, K. 576
Sergei Rachmaninoff Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, op. 36
Allegro agitato
Non Allegro
Allegro molto
Allegro molto
Domenico Scarlatti Sonata in B Minor, K. 87
  Sonata in E Major, K. 380
Ludwig Van Beethoven Sonata No. 13 in E-flat Major, op. 27, no. 1
Andante – Allegro – Andante
Allegro molto e vivace
Adagio con espressione
Allegro vivace
Modest Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition
Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, op. 23