2021 Junior Competition Streaming Now

Watch Live
Bachauer concert series
Apr 8, 2021 : 7:30 pm
Session 110
Schubert Transformed

Koji Attwood, “a pianist of rare gifts” (Nevada-Events), impresses with a Utah premiere of his own solo transcription of Schubert’s poignant “Death and the Maiden” Quartet.

Koji Attwood
Koji Attwood made his solo debut at the age of ten, and one year later won 2nd prize at the Young Keyboard Artists International Competition. He earned 2nd prize at the Stravinsky and International Keyboard competitions and was a winner of Astral Artistic Services' 2003 International Auditions. Mr. Attwood has performed numerous solo recitals across much of the country, including concerts in Steinway Hall, Lincoln Center, and on the Kosciuszko Foundation Concert Series. Mr. Attwood partnered with Mikhail Baryshnikov for his 2002-03 solo tour of the United States, garnering praise for being "beautifully nuanced" [Cleveland Plain Dealer]. He is featured, along with pianist Marc-Andre Hamelin, on the 2009 "Rarities of Piano" Danacord release, and as an avid transcriber, has over twenty arrangements to his credit.

String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor (“Death and the Maiden”), D. 810

Transcribed for solo piano by Koji Attwood

Share With Your Audience

Upcoming Concerts

May 13, 2021  -  Jun 13, 2021
Concert Series
Color and Synthesis
Proudly sponsored by